as the foot falls, the thoughts clear

The thought of a run was on my mind all day since I had slacked all week using work and weather as an excuse not to run. As I laced up my Adidas Kanadia TR 2’s, a smile crept across my face, knowing that a good, solid run was only a few moments away. I know I just ran a race on Saturday, but waiting til 6 days later to run again feels like pure laziness. Especially when the race was only a mere 6.2 miles that I totally rocked and completed in my fastest minute per mile race time EVER!

Murphy joined me on this run, and I have to admit, it’s a love/hate relationship running with him. While he doesn’t judge how I look in my running gear, he certainly judges how fast I run by seeing if I notice if he takes off when his leash is still in my hand. I on the other hand do judge how I look in my running gear, and not for the reason that I care what anyone else thinks, but that I know how inactivity can cause my shape to change so rapidly. I do, by the way, notice every time Murphy tries to take off- he tries to gallup, and gets caught so harshly by being attached to a leash. Poor guy.

As I put one foot in front of the other tonight, I started to feel better about running, and being active, and appreciating all the things that this hobby of mine does for me. It keeps me fit, it gives me much needed stress relief from my three jobs, it gives me goals to achieve, it’s fun, and it’s hard. I love running for so many different reasons, but it’s so hard to describe them all.

As my footsteps fell on the sidewalks of our neighborhood, my thoughts cleared. My “running” playlist got old fast, and I quickly turned to the shuffle button on my entire playlist of my mp3 player. Dashboard Confessionals’ ‘Vindicated’ began to play and I felt like I was listening to my life story play over and over again. My stepdad found me to be so stressed out a few years ago that he had to remind me to let my breath go, so I could breathe in again. He said, “Erica, you have to crawl before you can walk, and you have to walk before you can run. Just take things one step at a time.”

You better believe that I created a ceramic tile that says just that, and I see it EVERY day.  Running, simply put, is what I do best.

Hope dangles on a string
Like slow spinning redemption
Winding in and winding out
The shine of it has caught my eye

And roped me in
So mesmerizing, so hypnotizing
I am captivated

I am Vindicated
I am selfish
I am wrong
I am right
I swear I’m right
I swear I knew it all along
~ Dashboard Confessionals

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

