Thankful… for what?

It is on days like today that I am thankful for where I live. It is 20 days since my last post, and not because I haven’t been running, but because I’ve had nothing to say. As Rach, Murphy, and I found our way to the boardwalk in the 60 degree weather, I found myself saying I was thankful for where I live. The mild weather has allowed for some additional time outside this year that has not happened in previous years that I have lived here.

Today’s run was only 4.52 miles but it felt like twice that with the intensity of the wind pushing on us from both directions, no matter which way we went down the boardwalk at the oceanfront. Even poor Murphy was struggling to keep his usual spot ahead of both us runners. It felt like trying to run through a brick wall that wasn’t moving. In a way, I am thankful for this kind of training because it further prepares us for the two races Rach and I are doing back to back next weekend. As I type this, I feel good having run the most thankful day of the year. I am thankful for Murphy because of his fuzzy butt, his silly grins, and his quirky, yet adorable personality. I am thankful I can put one foot in front of the other, time and time again. I am thankful for my Adidas Kanadia Trail Runners because of their flexibility, lightness, and constant grip on the road. And most of all, I am thankful for my friends and family who support me and my running… in all senses of the word….

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

