One foot in front of the other…

2011 has not started off to be the greatest year for me. Some family things have come up, my art class was cancelled, and I literally got a cold on January 1st.

I was thrilled to finally slip back into my Adidas trailrunners partway through January to hit the pavement. I wasn’t sure how far I could go, but I was determined to at least get a few miles in. After all, you have to start somewhere, especially when your next half marathon isn’t that far away!

Tonight was a new triumph for me, well sorta. Mary and I did 5.5 miles at what was supposed to be a speed of 10:40 per mile, a decent race pace for us slower runners. Well, I think the warmer weather got the better of us, and we felt to good to let a speed hold us back! We hastened our steps to waiver between 9:15 and 10:30 for nearly the entire run. When it feels good to run, you kinda just have to go with it.

I was impressed that when put to the test after my 3.5 week hiatus and not that many runs, that I was able to stay at my usual race pace and then some. It is time for some speed work!

Running, yet again, has proved to be not just something I do, but something I love. The next run cannot come soon enough!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

