leaden legs

Tonight’s run was a challenge because I felt like I had lead tied to my hamstrings and calves as I ran.  It was a balmy 92 degrees when I started the run tonight, but fortunately a breeze was blowing. It honestly took about 4 miles to warm up… I guess in the words of John Bingham, it was a waddling penguin kinda day. 

I have some serious notes to myself though. Do NOT eat a footlong meatball sub, and expect to not suffer heartburn on a run several hours later.  Don’t think all that water you drank this morning will just be sweated out.  Laugh at yourself when you trip, and you’re all by yourself.

I must have had one of those pitiful or mad looks on my face again as I was running because a guy with wild hair and wild beard on a bike passed me and yelled,”You can do it!” as he went past.  I couldn’t help but grin big and keep going. It’s interesting to see how I feel so different today than I did on Saturday with my first long run of marathon training. That run was a breeze, with light feet and legs, and a good, solid pace. But I want to keep track of how each step along the way gets me to the ultimate goal of completing my first marathon, so here you have it….

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

