Running= Relief

I remember the old tv commercial for Rolaids when it said Rolaids spells relief. One day, the word relief was a spelling word for my class. I was a spelling whiz back in those days and often aced the tests because I was determined to be in the school spelling bee. I have to chuckle as I recall one of my classmates who spelled ROLAIDS for the word relief on that same spelling test. I overheard the teachers talking and laughing about it.  The teacher gently explained to the student that even though it said that one the commercial, the actual spelling was RELIEF.  That student still got credit for the spelling of Rolaids because it was cute, according to the teacher.  It’s funny how little things bring up memories like that.

I have not been running regularly since the Shamrock Half Marathon, and it’s my own fault. I needed a rest from running. I ran last Friday, only 5 days after the Shamrock, and did ok.  It was a hot day, and I ran with an HRR buddy who helped me push my pace despite the heat. After that day, the running ceased. And the irritability, insomnia, stress, increased bored eating began. Running seems to be my balance. And in this since, running is my relief.

After another week of not running, despite the Chesapeake Dismal Swamp Stomp Half Marathon right around the corner, I decided it was time to get my butt out the door. In the 5 mile run tonight, I found RELIEF. It was like I was carrying an elephant on each shoulder, and they both decided to jump off. That’s how much better I feel right now. It’s amazing how something so simple as running can do so much for the body, mind, and soul. I am grateful for the ability to run, every single step, every single mile, every single race.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Running= Relief

  1. David H. says:

    I’m sure your body appreciated the rest!

  2. dr1v3n says:

    I think it did David. But enough resting for now… two weeks til the Chesapeake Dismal Swamp Stomp Half Marathon! 🙂

Leave a Reply

