Who are you calling fast?

In the past several weeks, I have heard the following words from several fellow runners and even some non-runners “Wow, you are fast.”  I instantly turn around and look to see who they are talking to. Who is it that could proudly be called fast? Oh, wait. You’re talking to me? Seriously, you’re talking to me… Have you seen me run? Didn’t you just run the last 5 miles with me? You still think I’m fast. Wow.

It just doesn’t sink in that I could be fast running long distance. I ran sprints and relays in high school, so of course I was fast doing short distances. But long distance, endurance required runs are not where I consider myself a fast runner. I think it’s because I had to learn how to train differently, to hydrate and fuel differently, to mentally prepare myself differently, to wear clothes that I was comfortable in for longer periods of time, and to don headphones. Fast is not a word I would use to describe myself unless I am doing speedwork involving those short sprints.

BUT, emphasis on the but please (especially since I run long distance now and no longer have one!), I am flattered that others think I am fast. Very flattered, in fact, and want to say “THANK YOU!” because it means a lot to have that as one of my self-describing adjectives.

My fast behind went on a 10 mile run today with some fellow HRR buddies, and pushed to stay at a good pace. I was so in a zone, that I failed to realize I’d left the other two a good ways behind me. Epic fail on being a running cheerleader for my friends, especially to the one which is newer to running. I am sorry. Good news is, I caught back up to them, and stuck with them for the rest of the run. Really good news is that we did 10 miles in 1:45! Woo-hoo! And that was with a potty break and 2 stops to refill water bottles since it was 70 degrees and water was a must today.

With each long run, comes a lot of mentally clearing my head. I watched a movie last night that made me positively reflect on my runs, and the stress relief, mental dumps, and emotional journeys I go on with each one.  If you haven’t seen it yet, pick up “The Way” that has Martin Sheen in it. Fantastic movie and thought provoker. Here’s to another great long run as I journey towards my next half marathon!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Who are you calling fast?

  1. David H. says:

    Great run! It’s awesome to see you being consistent and having the rewards for it. You’re already having a great year, so here’s to even better things in the last 9 months of it!

    • dr1v3n says:

      Thanks David! It always helps to know that I have friends like you who understand what I go through on a daily basis as a runner, and who are a constant source of strength, encouragement, and support! These next 9 months are going to rock!

  2. The way I see it, if you can run faster than about 11:30 across 10 paved miles, then you’re faster than me…and therefore you’re fast.

    • dr1v3n says:

      Thanks Trisha! It’s taken a lot of work to get to “fast,” but I don’t regret any of it! Keep running- you too will get to be fast one day soon! 🙂

Leave a Reply

