Back in the Saddle Again…

Running in the summer always seems to be a challenge for those of us who have allergies.  The transition is slow, but it’s getting there. I was thankful for the overcast sky and the cool winds blowing as I made my way around the neighborhood today.  I’m happy to be back in training!

I know that as a seriously dedicated runner, I need to take breaks to let my body rest, especially after pushing myself so hard during the 4 races I completed earlier this year.  My hang up with this is that I have to ease back into running just like a new runner to get going again.  I usually scoff at runs shorter than 4 miles because I know I am capable of so much more.  Today, the 4 miles felt a little long, but it was worth it to get the sense of accomplishment when I was done.  I’m back in the saddle again… bring on the training plans! Thanks to my two coaches for working with me to not only better myself, but to achieve my goals of completing the Rock N Roll half marathon and the First Landing State Park Ultra Marathon!  Live. Love. Run!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Back in the Saddle Again…

  1. Greg Ritchie says:

    Wow, so you’re just blowing past the marathon and going straight to an Ultra?! lol Well, OK then. lol I’m hoping to do my first Half, in another month or so, but I’m not sure I’ll actually have the miles under me yet, in prep, but I’ll prob do it anyway. It will be a sloooooooow time, though. lol Best of luck!!

    • dr1v3n says:

      Hi Greg! Thank you! I did my first marathon last November at the OBX Marathon. You can find my write up in my blog in the November 2011 timeline. I wanted to challenge myself to do something outside of my comfort zone again this year, so that’s the reason for the ultramarathon, working with coaches, and doing a fundraiser for Girls on the Run! I wish you the best of luck at your first half marathon! I know you will do great! 🙂

Leave a Reply

