From the Perspective of a First Time 1/2 Marathoner

There are days when I am grateful for my friends. Sometimes I take things for granted, and don’t slow down to look back, to revisit, or to see how far I’ve come because I am always striving to do better, to push harder, to constantly prove myself. Yesterday, I ran with my good friend Rachael at the Rock N Roll Half Marathon. It was her very first half marathon, and it was a humid and hot one. It was so humid, in fact, that we were dripping sweat before the race even began at 7am!

I am thankful for Rachael for many, many reasons.  She always tries to keep pace with me or pushes me to go faster. She’s always up for a run, and always has a good attitude.  She is hard on herself like I am on myself about running and life in general. I saw a lot of that yesterday. A LOT. But what I realized is that despite how much she hurt and struggled to keep moving forward to that finish line, was the want to finish. Even if it took her the entire 4 hours allotted for the race.  She was determined.  Do I know that word? Do I know that word? DO I KNOW THAT WORD? Uh, yeah! Because that is my spirit, thoughts, sole, belief, etc about running and life in general.

I am so glad Rachael didn’t clock me yesterday with all the encouraging words and eventually fussing and yelling at her to keep going because she was pushing along through some serious pain and overheating.  She rocked the race and I am so proud that I was able to run the whole way with her! She really made me think about things from the perspective of a first time half marathoner. No matter how much you train, how prepared you are for that bridge you cross twice, how many different types of weather you train in, what kind of gear you where, when the day comes, you are a nervous wreck, and need to be treated with a lot of TLC and encouragement. Rachael, you rocked this race! CONGRATULATIONS for finishing your first half marathon! I am so proud of you!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to From the Perspective of a First Time 1/2 Marathoner

  1. David H. says:

    Congrats to you both. It’s always a great experience to watch someone else battle through and finish.

  2. Greg Ritchie says:

    What a great story! So inspirational! I know the pain and agony of a First Time Experience all too well. Specifically, a first time International distance triathlon, a couple of years back. Like your friend, I came in just under the 4hr cut off time and like your friend, I had to deal with some SERIOUS pain and agony, but was fueled by the desire and compulsion – the want, as you stated – to cross that finish line. Through tears and through near full body cramping, I was not going to be denied – nor, obviously, your friend. She has the heart of a true Champion! Give her my regards. And thanks for sharing this encouraging episode, Erica. Cheers –

    • dr1v3n says:

      Sometimes the “want” is what drives us the most… I know that’s what keeps me driven in a lot of realms in my life…. Hence, the title of my blog. Thanks for sharing about your experience as well. It’s always great to celebrate triumphs and all we had to do to get there! I will share your congrats with her! As always, thanks for your words of encouragement!

Leave a Reply

