13 in ’13

Sometimes it takes me a full day to comprehend how I want to tackle a new year. I had already had some things in mind to consider for my New Years resolutions, and had already started talking about them in various forms, but I wanted to put it out there to the world to hold me accountable. So here goes nothing:

I will be running 13 races in 2013 because 13 is my lucky number, making 2013 my lucky number year. I have already signed up for the following races:

January- Charleston Half Marathon

February- Virginia is for Lovers 14k

March- Shamrock Half Marathon

April- Chesapeake Dismal Swamp Stomp Half Marathon

May- Color Me Rad 5k

September- Virginia Beach Rock N Roll Half Marathon

October- Wicked 10k

November- I haven’t signed up yet, but am debating over OBX marathon, Richmond Marathon, and a few other smaller races.

December- Surf N Santa 10 miler

So you can see that this leaves room for 5 additional races throughout the year. I just have this incredible feeling that it’s going to be a great year! I can’t believe how much faster I have become since my training for my ultra marathon. I am excited to introduce speedwork back into my schedule to see how much faster I can become!

With this in mind, I come to the next item on my bucket list, which has now become a focus for this year: the Boston Marathon. This is like climbing Mt. Everest for any runner. It’s the best of the best. It’s the race everyone wants to run. It’s notorious for the stories about Kathrine Switzer (who went to my alma mater for 2 years- Lynchburg College!), who was the first woman to run the race, for Heartbreak Hill, for being a difficult course, and for being a culmination of hard work, sweat, and sometimes even heartbreak. This year, my friend Rebecca, and I will be working our asses off to become fast enough to qualify for Boston. I have to. It’s no longer so out of reach that I can’t dream about it. I am no longer running a close to 3 hour half marathon. If I hadn’t been running on trails for my ultra, I would have easily been in the 4 hour and some change range for the marathon distance this past December. It’s not unrealistic. It’s going to take a lot of endurance, speedwork, hills, strength and resistance training, and I’m sure a lot of sweat, blood, and tears. (Please don’t let there be any serious road rash or injuries!) But it’s my goal. It’s on my bucket list.

I WANT BOSTON.

I WANT BOSTON.

The goal is Boston in 2014.

After a fan-freaking-tastic 13 in ’13.

So there it is. There are my goals for the entire world to read. Hold me to it. Hold Rebecca and I accountable. Don’t let us slack off. Don’t let us hold back. Push us to do what we thought we could never do. We’re already running in the 8’s for the minute to mile ratio. Who’s to say we can’t run faster for longer? No one. We are going to do this. 13 in ’13 will lead to Boston in 2014. HAPPY NEW YEAR!

Oh, and by the way, with these faster minutes to mile ratio… a sub 2 hour half marathon is going to happen this YEAR! Live. Love. Run. Passionately! ❤

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to 13 in ’13

  1. David H. says:

    Are you trying to qualify for Boston this year to run it in 2014 or to qualify in 2014 to run it in 2015? Most people I’ve seen who go for it craft a 2-3 plan to cut down their times. If you want Boston ’14, you’d have to qualify before the end of September I believe. For you, doing the Shamrock full in 2014 might be the race to aim for to qualify. You could surely get that 3:35 time in that race.

  2. dr1v3n says:

    Right now the plan is to try and qualify this year to run Boston in 2014. If it doesn’t happen, Shamrock in 2014 to qualify for Boston in 2015 is plan B. Depending on how well the half marathon goes in Charleston in 2 weeks will determine if I switch my entry from the half marathon to the marathon at Shamrock this year at the last minute. I want to make sure my legs are ready to race before I commit to another marathon so close to the ultra I just did. Shamrock is definitely the best race to qualify- it’s where I already run, I know the course like the back of my hand, and it’s FLAT. I’m glad to see you think the same thing! What do you mean by a 2-3 plan? Any advice is welcome!

    • David H. says:

      I left out an important word there… what I meant was a 2-3 year plan. I’ve watched a few people on dailymile go for Boston and pretty much develop a plan to get faster at a few marathons to qualify. When I see people go for it, I see a lot of stress involved with the planning.

      I have absolutely no desire to qualify or run Boston, so I don’t quite get getting so wrapped up into it. Approach it like everything else you do with running — keep it fun and it won’t be so stressful.

      • dr1v3n says:

        That’s definitely my plan to keep it fun. I get so serious, and then laugh at myself because I love to run… and it’s my stress reliever, so it shouldn’t be so serious! I do know it’s going to be a lot of training, and scheduling, but the feeling of completing a goal is just as fun and thrilling. So, why not have a big one? Boston for me is a few things… being a girl and running Boston breaks down a lot of barriers- even though a lot of women have been running it ever since Kathrine Switzer first ran it. Blame it on the little bit of feminist in me, but that’s part of the reason. I think the other reason is because of the number of times I’ve been told, “You can’t do that.” Why not? I think I can. I don’t plan on running Boston then quitting running. I just want it to be a part of my personal history. I want to say that I’ve been there, and I’ve run Boston.

  3. Nessa says:

    Richmond in November. Among other things, I’m aiming for the 26.2. Here’s to keeping Lupus at bay.

  4. Ok, so after some research……….we run the Charleston to see how we feel with the half. If we think we can without killer ourselves switch our registrations for the Shamrock half to the full. That is our race in our comfort zone. If we make the time we make the time. If not, well we tried and will have to wait till after september 2013. October should open up the cycle again and we can go from there. What do you think? Remember we are talking 8 minute miles (3:30:00) to make sure we are under our qualifying time.

  5. Whitney says:

    please contact me sis

Leave a Reply

