The question is…

…how fast is really fast? Apparently it is a 7:33 mile when I go all out, give it everything I’ve got, and force my body to do what my mind is ready to quit doing the instant it starts. Tonight, after a warm-up, Rebecca and I went all out for a mile just to see what we could do. She’s still faster than I am, but I plan on catching up soon enough. I still can’t wrap my head around completing a mile in 7:33. I was never that fast when I ran high school track.  I can only imagine how things are going to improve this year with the added types of training, and all the races I have on my agenda.  Yay! Shout out to Rebecca for having the brilliant idea of setting a baseline for the year and for pushing so hard! 🙂

First mile logged for speed: 7:33

Live. Love. Run. Passionately!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The question is…

  1. Greg Ritchie says:

    That’s fantastic, Erica!! As part of the local Run Series here in Lburg, I ran a Mile event this past summer, on LC’s track and came in at 7:30. I had literally not run that all out since running track back in junior high! Not only was I amazed at the time, but I just about thought I was going to pass out and/or die! My body was screaming for me to stop, but I told myself that on this day, this event, I was going to absolutely go “balls out” for a best time. The time felt great; the pain, not so much. lol

    Unfortunately, I didn’t continue with my training to improve upon that time and I’m now in rebuild mode – yet again, and just now back up to 3 miles/wk range. But, inspired by your incredible exploits this last year, I have set year end goals for all of my main exercise activities. My running goal is a min of 400 miles, to include at least one half-marathon. I figure with that carrot out in front of me I’ll actually be encouraged to stick with it, through thick and thin. And, of course, there’s the constant motivation of reading about your achievements. Keep it up!!

    • dr1v3n says:

      Thank you Greg for making me feel humbled by your words. It’s by compliments like that I feel like I can always strive to do better, and in turn help someone else achieve their goals. I am so happy to hear that you have set goals for yourself and you are working hard to get to them. Sometimes a goal is all we need to get up and get to it. Otherwise we have no reason to propel ourselves forward, but rather stay stagnant where we are. Thank you again for your kind words! I look forward to hearing about you breaking that 7:30 mile! I know you will be way faster than me before you know it! Happy New Year! 🙂

Leave a Reply

