Rainy Murphy Miles and More….

Some days I wonder what’s in store for me when I wake up before my alarm clock after a night full of wicked, crazy, sordid dreams. Some days I wonder what I will find when I come home since Murphy is so anxious that he often gets into things he shouldn’t. Sometimes I wonder if things will get better before they get worse.  I’ve dealt with a lot over the last month and a half, and it’s not been fun, it’s not been pleasant, but there’s been a few silver linings. I hang onto those silver linings with all I’ve got though because I don’t know when the next one’s coming.

My foot is still bothering me to the point that I fear a stress fracture. I am going to the doctor tomorrow in hopes of an x-ray and exam to determine what’s causing this sharp pain when I take a step. It comes and goes, but it’s been going on long enough to cause concern now. This is only one minor thing in comparison to all the other things I have going on in my life…. And I hate that all these other things are so big that they are influencing my whole self… not just a minor bother, but me, as a whole, my personality, and my well-being. I am so thankful that I am at least not sick!

Murphy and I went for a 4 mile run tonight in the on again, off again rain, and kept up a steady pace. I know we were going pretty fast because my calves were tight, but I just wanted to go with it, so I just stayed with what his pace was, and let the calves be tight. I’m getting to that point where I want to run, but I don’t. After this half marathon, I may need a good week off just because. One day at a time right now….

“I’ve learned there are troubles of more than one kind. Some come from ahead, others come from behind. But I’ve bought a big bat. I’m all ready, you see. Now my troubles are going to have trouble with me.” – Dr. Seuss

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rainy Murphy Miles and More….

  1. Greg Ritchie says:

    Hey Erica – If I may offer my “two cents”, one thing that comes to mind, and of which you may already be fully aware, is that you may actually be starting to experience the effects of over training. I wasn’t aware of this myself, until somewhat recently, but that over training, without giving the body enough rest can/does actually lead to depression. And certainly, with the great effort you’ve been expending for many months now, I just wonder if perhaps a nice, long rest isn’t just the ticket for you? Again, just my thoughts. To your health –

    • dr1v3n says:

      Thanks so much for your concern, and sharing your two cents, Greg. It means a lot that my friends are all looking out for me. What you are referring to is the “runner’s blues” and I most certainly have them. It’s the big let down after a huge race. It happens because all of the training is over, the big event is over, the exertion and training and mindset is no longer needed, and it results in a lack of motivation, energy, and usual runner’s pep. It happened after my marathon too, and I honestly don’t know why I didn’t think about it, and try to prevent it. I do have a lot of other stressors in my life right now, but when running is your relief AND your stress, it’s counterproductive. After my next half marathon a week from today, I will be taking a much needed break before I pick up training for Shamrock in March. 5 days after my ultra was clearly not enough. Thank you for caring! Hugs! E.

Leave a Reply

