Ice Skating… errr… Running in the Snow

Today’s run was cut in half because instead of being a 10 mile long run, it turned into 4.63 miles of resistance training!  After yesterday’s snow/rainy mixture, everything turned into a solid coating of ice over the sidewalks and the roads last night into this morning. This created interesting obstacles as I navigated over the roads and sidewalks this morning.  Some areas were clear. Some had crunchy ice. Some had solid, slick, smooth ice. Some had straight powdered snow.  Some had yucky, gray-ish, brown-ish slush.  Regardless, I tried my best to run on top of the snow that was on top of the grass so I didn’t fall and bust my butt!  Mind you the grass at the beach is this squishy, kinda fluffy, bounces back quickly, and sink-into-it kinda grass. So with every step, I was sinking a little bit, and propelling myself forward with the hopes that there wasn’t a huge hole hidden by the snow!  I definitely did my fair share of slipping and sliding (i.e. skating!) across each of the intersections.  It was really funny to see the reactions of the people driving by me today when I was comfortable enough to run in the grass and look up.  There were looks of concern, horror, amusement, smiles, and the occasional head nod.  I think the smiles and head nods were from fellow runners… after all, who else would understand the need to get out the door and run regardless of the weather?!

The temperature started dropping quickly when I was about 2.5 miles in, so I opted to turn around and head back.  The sun had gone behind clouds at this point, and there was a very dark, ominous looking line of clouds over the beach area.  It was better to be safe than sorry! Despite it being freezing out, I soaked through all my gear today with that resistance training!  It was a crazy intense workout, but so worth it to run in the snow AT THE BEACH!

Live. Love. Run. Passionately! 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ice Skating… errr… Running in the Snow

  1. Greg Ritchie says:

    Uhh, yeah, the word “crazy” comes to mind. lol

  2. dr1v3n says:

    They say you have to be crazy to be a runner! 😉

Leave a Reply

