Playing the part…

Sometimes I feel like my body belongs to someone else and my mind is the only thing that is mine.  I often feel like Mrs. Potato Head after a race or a really long run because my body just doesn’t want to cooperate the way I think it should.  My legs feel all weird and like they don’t fit right.  My arms don’t really want to swing in the manner that they have done on every single run.  And my mind is like, “Let’s go already! You are wasting time!”

My legs yelled back today. They told my mind, “I hate you. You’re making me run the 2nd day after a half marathon.  And one that I helped you PR at no less!”  My legs were quite grumpy on my short 2.5 mile run tonight, and were also quite slow. I can’t say that I blame them though…

I just have to put Mrs. Potato Head back together one piece at a time, and very gingerly, apparently…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Playing the part…

  1. David H. says:

    You’ll need just a few easy runs this week before needing to think about pace again. Let your body recover, or it’ll hate you in another month!

    • dr1v3n says:

      Isn’t that the truth!? Thanks David! I am definitely taking it easy this week. I have another half to prepare for next month, which is really the half I had planned on PRing in!

Leave a Reply

