To Run or Not to Run

Today, I had the debate with myself that doesn’t happen very often: to run or not to run.  The only two reasons I was even remotely considering not running was because, one, I have had a sore throat for two days now, and two, it was snowing and windy and 34 degrees out when I got home.  Running won, of course!

I went to my closet to get out running gear, and realized that I had several pairs of running shoes laid out in the closet from various times of being worn this week.  I just posted the picture… you would think I’m a runner, or I’m at least obsessed with running shoes… Maybe a little bit of both! Since it was so chilly out, and I really don’t want to chance getting ill anytime soon, I opted for several warmer layers like I used to wear in track in high school in NY.  I dug out my lined windbreaker pants, and pulled them on. Then I suddenly realized that not only did I not have to wriggle into them because the lining is normally a pain in the butt to get into, but that they were loose.  I was trying to think of the last time I wore those pants… 3 years ago?  I only came across them because I am purging my closet of too big clothes.  I still opted to wear them to keep warm because I wasn’t ready to face the cold 34 degrees with bare legs today.  Thank goodness for a drawstring in the waist! I also got out a hoodie I usually save for bumming around in on the weekends, and slipped it over my head… when and why did I ever think that a men’s medium sized hoodie would fit me??  At least it’s warm! It was my third and final layer that was worn as Murphy and I ran threw new neighborhoods today on our 5 mile run. 

We completed the first 2.5 miles in 25:22 at a 10:08 minute per mile pace, and the second 2.5 miles in 24:22 at a 9:44 minute per mile pace.  Not too shabby for a split negative training day, especially since it was Murphy’s first 5 miler in a while! 

It’s really funny what goes through your head when you are out running.  Even with all these baggy clothes on over my wick away shirts, I still was semi-girly with my sparkly headband and long blonde hair hanging down my back in my forever long ponytail.  I was thinking about what I was listening to in high school when I was training for track meets wearing clothes similar to those I was wearing today… the song “Barbie Girl” got stuck in my head, and I laughed out loud as Murphy and I went along because I am far from being a Barbie… but I still like being girly on occasion! Here’s to another good run with the Murphy dog!

Live. Love. Run. Passionately!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to To Run or Not to Run

  1. Greg Ritchie says:

    Does, “Not run”, ever win?! Please.

Leave a Reply

