Mrs. Potato Head Who?

I met up with the HRR group this morning to get my 5 miles in on the boardwalk.  I never get tired of hearing or seeing the waves crash on the sand when I run.  It’s so peaceful, calming, and soothing to the soul. I was grateful that the weather held off for us all to get a run in this morning.  The chilly, windy weather will definitely break for a rain shower soon though because the clouds are getting darker and the wind was starting to bite at the tail end of my run.

I was the only one who had to do five miles this morning, so I ventured towards the higher street numbers first before making my way all the way down to 1st Street.  Going into the wind is so brutal sometimes. It feels like it’s pushing with all its might to get you to stop running, to stop moving, and to just give into what it’s doing.  I refused. I just dipped my head, turned my music up a little louder, and watched the waves as I ran.

I completed the first mile and looked at my watch. 8:22. Wait. WHAT?! 8:22??? Oh yeah! Maybe it’s because I had music playing (in my pocket today because who needs headphones when you want to hear the ocean too?!), or maybe it’s because it was cold, but that first mile today rocked!

I calculated when the end of the next mile would be- approximately 14 more blocks, and just watched the water again until I got to that point. 8:36. Ok… OK! I just went with it and kept running because I felt great after yesterday’s not so great feeling run! I didn’t look at my watch again until I was done, and just enjoyed watching and listening to the waves crash.  I think running on the boardwalk is my happy pace… 🙂

I turned around at the end of the boardwalk, and was hit once again with the resistance from the wind, but I just pushed forward because I knew I only had two miles left. It was at this point I saw a man, who was only wearing swim trunks, run from a hotel, down the boardwalk, onto the sand, and straight into the crashing waves. Talk about adrenaline junkie!!! You go, man! 

There were a ton of cute dogs out this morning that seemed to be grinning away as they sauntered along beside their running parents.  I love the bulldogs under bites that make them look like they really are grinning big! I should have thought to bring Murphy this morning, but he would have wanted to be in the sand. He loves the beach just as much as I do!  Another day, puppy dog!

I got back to King Neptune where the rest of the group waited for me, and stopped my watch.  5.019 miles in 43:23.  That’s an 8:38 minute per mile pace. Guess who’s got their stride back and feels GREAT! 🙂 ME!!!! All I have to say is, “Mrs. Potato Head, who???”

Live. Love. Run. Passionately!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mrs. Potato Head Who?

  1. Greg Ritchie says:

    Kudos!! So, we know the name of your sluggish self, but what’s the name of your running-on-wings self?

Leave a Reply

