Track Attack

I somehow have managed to not do any track workouts since high school when I was training as a sprinter. Yes, I said sprinter, not endurance or long distance runner.  So when I walked onto the track tonight, it was like I was in high school all over again, prepping for 100s, 200s, and 4×100 relay.  It was honestly refreshing to do something I already knew how to do. It’s kinda the same concept as getting on a bike after years and years of not riding one. 

Tonight, my task was the following: 1 mile warm-up, 4×400 with 200s at walking or jogging pace between them, 8×200 with 100s at walking or jogging pace between them, and 1 mile cool down. It’s been so chilly lately that my warm up only slightly managed to warm me up before I was off to tackle the 400s.  My goal for the 400s were to keep them at 2:00 each.  I hit 2:01, 2:07, 1:54, and 1:57 consecutively.  It was hard to try to remember 8 additional numbers for my 200s, but I averaged :50 for each one with my slowest being :54 and my fastest being :46.  It was nice to be back out there on the track, but at the same time I felt like I was chasing a ghost.  Possibly the ghost of how fast I used to be at sprinting.  In high school, it was nothing for me to hit a :35-:45 for 200m or a :15-:20 for a 100m.  I’m curious to see if I keep up this speed work training if I can get back down to those speeds, especially since I was never able to run a mile as fast as I can now.  It’s interesting to see what the body can do when you train it, mold it, feed it, and make it work differently. 

I got my cool down mile started just as the rain came, and got soaked in the process of heading back.  It is what it is… it’s hard to wrap my head around the fact that the total of 4×400 and 8×200 equals 2 miles, and I squashed the distance in 14:55 total tonight.  Wow. That’s insane! I may be hurting a little tomorrow…

Live. Love. RUN! Passionately!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

