Rockin’ the Boardwalk

Sometimes you get a song stuck in your head and it takes you through a whirlwind of emotions… this one has been stuck with me most of the week…

A thousand times I tempted fate.
A thousand times I played this game.
A thousand times that I have said,
Today, today, today.

As Murphy and I ran the boardwalk today, I thought about how I had traveled to Virgina Beach for my senior trip in high school.  I had been just like the girls who shouted down at me and Murphy today. Saying cutesy things, naive to the real world (to some extent), loving life, and enjoying my first true trip away from home with very little supervision. I remember thinking, “Why are all those people running on the boardwalk? Why aren’t they just enjoying the beach, surf, and sand?”

As I think back now, I realize that I never put two and two together to create four.  I didn’t recognize that running allowed me to feel free and to break away from the worries of the world, especially if I did it in my absolute favorite location ever!!! There are a few things that have held true for me since childhood.  I have always wanted to be an artist. I have always wanted to live at the beach. And lastly, I have ALWAYS been a runner- running from place to place, and even racing the kids in the neighborhood at a young age.

So, as I watched the people running on the boardwalk during my senior trip, giggling away at who knows what, I shouldn’t have neglected to follow through with my track coach’s training for that week. But I did. I was hurting the next week, but I wouldn’t take the time away from the beach for anything. Now I know better, and get a dose of two things I love at once when I can; running at the boardwalk will never get old to me! 🙂

Murphy and I rocked our four mile boardwalk run tonight in 34:36, which is an 8:39 minute per mile pace.  We had some serious wind resistance coming up the boardwalk tonight, and Murphy’s ears were flipped over and flapping away as we pushed into it.  Murphy promptly passed out in my backseat on the ride home this evening, but I know he loved running fast!  I never tire of hearing the waves crash on the sand or smelling the salt air when I run the boardwalk. I LOVE where I live!

Live. Love. RUN. Passionately!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rockin’ the Boardwalk

  1. Greg Ritchie says:

    This made me think allll the way back to when I was in 3rd grade and had just moved down to FL. Until our new home was built, we lived in a condo on the beach, and although I spent nearly twenty years living two blocks off the beach, the beach memory that is most ingrained in my head is listening to the crashing of the waves and smelling the salt in the air as I lay in bed at night, and thinking to myself, This is just the coolest thing ever! I cherish that memory.

Leave a Reply

