Runner’s World Acknowledges Runners

Today, I got a message from a runner friend I know from college, David.  It said to check out the link he had placed on my Facebook page.  Mind you, I’m in the middle of teaching classes, and my phone is vibrating in my pocket multiple times, which encourages me to take a quick peak just in case it’s something urgent. I open the link, which is to a Runner’s World article about runners around the world supporting Boston by wearing race shirts and running together, and am staring at my own face.  In fact, it’s the picture I submitted to #RunChat’s Facebook page the day we all wore our race shirts to show our support for Boston.  I shook my head, closed my eyes, and opened them again. It was definitely me… staring back at… ME! WHOA! I’m in Runner’s World!

I’d never imagined I would be in Runner’s World, and I am honored and humbled that my picture was one of the ones that was featured for such a great article that summarizes what lots of runners have been doing to show their support for Boston.  In all honesty, I’m not big on publicity about myself, but am glad that if I had to be pictured next to anything, that it was me, as a runner, showing my support for Boston! Boston Strong!

Live. Love. Run. Passionately!

Here’s the link if you want to see the great article: http://www.runnersworld.com/runners-stories/social-media-drums-huge-efforts-help

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Runner’s World Acknowledges Runners

  1. Greg Ritchie says:

    That’s awesome! Congrats! Because of the stuff you’ve been posting – here and on FB – I heard about the wearing a race shirt to support Boston, so I did too! lol Didn’t get any running in, but I wore my favorite race shirt. 🙂

    • dr1v3n says:

      Thanks Greg! It’s insanely cool to be in a running magazine! That’s awesome that I was able to share, and you were able to participate from afar! 🙂 Every little bit counts!

  2. David H. says:

    Congrats on your photo being chosen, and thanks for participating. It would be cool if they put this in the print edition too, but no word on that just yet.

    • dr1v3n says:

      Thanks David! 🙂 It never occurred to me to not participate… running has always been a huge part of my life, but with each year, it’s become even more important. I am thankful I had the opportunity to show my support. If it does go to print, let me know! 🙂

Leave a Reply

