And She’s Back!!!!

DailyMile sent me a nasty gram yesterday. It said I hadn’t run in 9 days, and my friends missed seeing my training.  My coach told me a couch potato probably wrote the programming for DailyMile. I laughed really hard at that one! 🙂 But in all honesty, it didn’t make me feel better about my rest days.  I know I need them. I do. It’s just, it’s been weird to not run. It’s been even weirder to have all this extra time on my hands. I think Murphy thinks that the couch is my new bed.  I’ve spent more time on my derriere than I would like to admit over these past 9, no wait, 10 days. 

I did run like two feet, and walk the rest of the Color Me Rad 5k on Sunday with two close friends, and was excited to be C-O-V-E-R-E-D in color! We had so much fun getting coated, we stayed for nearly every last color bomb at the end of the race until we got too cold to hang around! Next year, the plan is to bring “goodies” so that we aren’t so bored on the parts of the 5k where they don’t throw color on you.  We also think there probably should be one of us bringing music (obviously appropriately covered in a bag as to not get color-ized!) next time because you couldn’t hear the DJ through most of the course. Throwing bags of color on random people is kinda like hitting strangers with bumper cars at Busch Gardens. It’s acceptable rough play and it’s so much fun! 🙂

After having a FAN-freaking-TASTIC weekend of live music, people watching, volunteering, and color bombing at the 5k, I opted to finally give my body what it’s been aching to do for ten days—- GO FOR A RUN!!!! 🙂 I headed out to the boardwalk with my running buddy, Frank, for whatever distance felt good in the rain.  On warm days like today, the rain is always welcome! And who can resist seeing and hearing the waves crashing while running?!  LOVE it! We ended up running about 4.9 miles, and I felt A-MAZING… My legs were like, “Hey, we kinda missed doing this, and can’t we go faster?!”  After resting for 10 days, it was the most freeing feeling to just run. To take in the salt air, feel the breeze  and raindrops on my face, settle into a quick, but feel good kinda pace, and just GO. Have I mentioned that I love to run??? I L.O.V.E. it! And in this instance, absence has made the heart grow fonder… Live. LOVE. Run. Passionately!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to And She’s Back!!!!

  1. Greg Ritchie says:

    And doesn’t it feel GREAT to run after a good, long rest, so that your body can give it’s all without complaint?! Sometimes you just gotta take a step back in order to run two steps forward – to twist a phrase. 🙂

Leave a Reply

