I Told You So

“I told you so” is all I can hear right now.  I had numerous runner friends tell me to only run a short distance in my Merrell barefoot Mary Janes when I first started because barefoot/minimalist shoes are WAY different than any trail runner I currently kick around in.  Emphasis on the word short. Well, to me, 2 miles IS short.  In all honesty, I don’t like to even change into my running gear unless I know I am going 4 miles or more (except for my recovery runs after my ultra). I know, I know, I sound like a running snob, but it’s true! Why bother even getting changed if I am only going to do 2 miles?!  Anywho- the “I told you so” is coming from my runner friends who offered the aforementioned advice about running in barefoot/minimalist shoes because they told me that if I ran more than the short distance, I would be one sore runner the next day with the pain/soreness/ ouch factor being in my calf muscles.  They were right. Even two miles was too far yesterday.  My calves were screaming at me tonight doing the 4.96 miles on the boardwalk, even at a ridiculously slow pace of around 9:45! They didn’t really hurt today while I was walking around my classroom, but I think my super cute light turquoise tights could have helped some of the pain by offering slight compression throughout the day.  (Art teachers get to wear fun stuff! :)) Hindsight is always 20/20, and right now I’m kicking my own butt for not listening, and doing only a very short distance last night.

Anyways, it was nice to get out to the boardwalk tonight, and enjoy the sunshine, and the company of my running buddy, Frank.  Tourist season is almost at full tilt, and we got several good chuckles from determining who was and who was not a tourist by various factors.  Walking on the boardwalk in high-heeled wedges- tourist.  Running, and dodging tourists (like we were also doing)- local.  Wearing too little clothing and shivering under a towel instead of putting on other clothes over a too small bikini- tourist.  Very bright and obvious sunburn lines- tourist.  Very white legs, in running shoes, but walking at a snail’s pace- tourist.  This was fun!

Tonight’s run was a steady one, but I am happy to say tomorrow is a rest day for these sore calves! It’s going to be ice pack central in my house tonight!!!!

Live. Love. Run. Passionately!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Told You So

  1. David H. says:

    When I went to “less” of a shoe last year, I did no more than a mile in them the first couple of weeks, then gradually just increased that distance. It’ll take a good quarter of a year to make the full transition safely.

Leave a Reply

