Running has…

… brought me new friends

…made me closer to old friends

…kept me sane

…let me blow off steam

…kept me fit

…made me faster

…made me appreciate my ability to run

…made me love running with Murphy

…made me appreciate my running friends who “get it”

…made me have new goals

…made me break old goals

…brought me to new places

…introduced me to new words

…made me laugh at the word fartlek multiple times

…made me thankful that I am active

…given me the opportunity to clear my head

…given me the best support system I have ever had in my life (a close 2nd to my sorority sisters!)

…given me an appreciation for “free time,” which quickly turns into “time to run”

…helped me adapt to changes in myself- physically, mentally, emotionally, spiritually

…rebuild my self-esteem and confidence

…also humbled me

…made me realize a lot about life

…makes me happy

…made me dream about winning big races, running races naked, and missing the start a number of races by being stuck in traffic

…given me a drawer full of new attire, and several shoeboxes worth of shoes in my closet

…made me seek guidance from other runners- young, old, new, seasoned

…made me realize that I can do more than I ever thought

…opened my eyes literally and figuratively to a world I wasn’t sure existed

…never let me down, but forced me to try harder

…not only added days to my life, but life to my days

…made me challenge the nay-sayers in my life

…become more than my sport

…become more than something I started doing when I was little

…fulfilled me, and continues to do so

…challenged me daily

…inspired me to train my ass off this summer to try and qualify for Boston at the Richmond Marathon in November!!!!

…changed my life

Live. Love. RUN. Passionately!

5.72 with a dear friend tonight who I wouldn’t have met had it not been for running. You are stronger than you think. ❤ you girl!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Running has…

  1. Greg Ritchie says:

    Awesome post!

Leave a Reply

