Birthday Run!

I took off this morning for my first and only birthday run in Atlanta, and I was greeted for the 2nd time by something I only see once a week in Virginia Beach: hills. Every. Step. of. the. Way.  My calves are usually the ones screaming at me for varying reasons, but today my quads were spitting expletives, and were threatening to give in if I so much as went up and down another hill.  I understand.  The hills in Atlanta are NO JOKE.  After two consecutive runs, 4 and 6 milers, my legs are tired.  But in all honesty, it’s in a good way because this is not a normal routine for me.  Normally, Thursdays are my hill workouts at about the only real hill in Virginia Beach- Mt. Trashmore.  It is an aptly named hill due to what it’s created by: a mountain of trash! Needless to say, Mt. Trashmore is pretty much the steepest hill in our below sea level city, and hills are something to tackle once a week.  

Hence, the reasoning behind my quads spitting expletives at me when I decided it would be a GREAT idea to run on my birthday! On a side note, I sucked it up, buttercup, today because I ran my 6.14 miles in the rain! (Coach would be so proud!)  It felt great after running in the absolute muggy mess I ran in yesterday.  I navigated several neighborhoods nearby my cousin’s home, and explored a small, local park.  I somehow managed to scare a few birds out of the puddles, and made a dog bark, but nothing else seemed out of the ordinary.  Oh, wait a minute! Did I mention that some dude yelled out his truck window? His compliment was “Nice legs, baby!”  Well, thank you, buddy! I will take that compliment on my birthday! 🙂

So, while I ran much slower than normal due to said hills for the entire mileage, I still feel it was a successful birthday run because I conquered the hills, and even ran up and down a bridge walk that went over the main road!  

Lastly, today’s run ended with a phenomenal birthday present! My cousins presented me with a handmade medal hanger that is completely pink, and has my favorite phrase on it! 

Live. Love. Run. Passionately!

Happy Birthday to me! 🙂 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

