Track Attack

I am definitely back into full training mode now that I have set days for easy runs, recovery runs, speed work, hills, and long runs.  I tried to attack the track this afternoon, but at 4:30, the sun was still blazing, and the 90 degree weather easily felt like over 100 with the humidity being as high as it was today.  Like I mentioned in the previous post, wet is the new way to run! I had 5x800s on the schedule for today with a 1 mile warm-up and a 1 mile cool-down.  I got through the warm-up and 3 of the 5 800s before the full effect of the heat and humidity hit me.  Even with drinking a ton of water while I was at the beach earlier today, and drinking over half of my water bottle at this point, I was getting pretty lightheaded.  I had to actually go sit down and wait til my heart rate went back down, and I cooled down enough to make the lightheaded-ness go away.  It’s so aggravating that variables beyond your control can interfere with your training, but it’s never something you can ignore.  This has been apparent before, and it was apparent again today that I needed a break between the 800s so my body could handle the heat, humidity, and intensity of my training.  I forgot to mention that my goal for the 800s today was a 3:50.  My 800s were as follows: 4:03, 3:55, 3:51, 4:11, 4:02.  You can tell which one was shortly after the lightheaded-ness happened.  As much as I tried, Mother Nature’s love of the heat and humidity held me back a bit today.  My intensity was there.  The effort was there.  My heart was in it.  I’m not counting this as a loss.  It was definitely a great workout!

I did my cool-down mile at the beach, on the packed sand with my coach.  J & A Racing held a school supply 5k tonight to collect goodies for kids who weren’t able to purchase necessary school supplies.  I am grateful for a group in our community who is so willing to give back! Props to you J & A Racing!

Live. Love. Run. Passionately!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

