Are We There Yet?

Today I experienced “the empty tank” during my 14 mile long run. The empty tank is not fun. It’s not recommended, and I will NOT do it again.  Unfortunately, I experienced a bit of an upset stomach from the result of something I ate yesterday.  As a result, my stomach wasn’t up to par for dinner last night, and I fell asleep on the couch pretty early since I felt so crummy.  Thankfully, most upset stomachs are short-lived, and this one was too.  The bad part is that the only true fuel I had for my long run today was the cereal I ate before I took off for FLSP.  Well, let me tell you something.  Cereal only lasted for the first 6 or 7 miles, and I was in need of something to keep me going.  Fortunately, I had my sports beans to refuel with, but unfortunately, they too have a lack of staying power.  

My run today was a solid one, with good conversation, and good friends, but my running performance quickly took a hiatus after hitting 10 miles.  The empty tank actually caused me to walk portions of the last four miles.  While I am happy I got the distance in, I now know better than to run on no dinner.  Even those of us that have been running for a while have lessons to learn.  Here’s to 14 miles that are DONE!

Live. Love. Run. Passionately!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

