The Big Fat F

As in FATIGUE.  The word that no runner wants to hear, read, or feel.  I felt it at speed work tonight as I worked my way down a ladder.  1.5 mile warm-up, 2 x 1 miles around 7:25, 2 x 800s around 3:35, and 2 x 400s around 1:45, and 1.5 mile cool down.  All of my times were off tonight, but not for lack of trying.  It was definitely a hot day at 90 degrees with super high humidity.  I can’t continue to think of it as an excuse, but as a reason to push as hard as I can handle before I feel dizzy enough to pass out.  I finished my ladder in the following: 8:20, 8:20, 3:29, 4:00, 1:50, 1:58.  Clearly, I pushed too hard on the first 800, and was fatigued on the 2nd one.  My coach was there to talk me through some of my thinking and my form tonight, and for the last 3 pieces of the ladder, I focused on form.  This threw me off a bit, but made me realize that if I swung my arms more uniformly, it allowed me to breathe easier.  The last part of the ladder, I solely focused on running strong and forgetting the fatigue I was feeling.  The 400m felt great! It wasn’t my fastest time, but I wasn’t focused on how tired I was or how heavy my legs felt.  This definitely made a difference in my running.  As coach tells me, these mile repeats will be worth it when I hit the latter end of the marathon and hit the wall of fatigue.  I will be repeating to myself “Run strong and forget the fatigue,” because it works.  I will need to remember that no matter how tired I feel, no matter how heavy my legs feel, no matter how hard it is to breathe, I CAN forget that I am fatigued and focus solely on running strong and finishing strong.  After all, I am chasing after Boston! (And that T-rex is always chasing after me!!! Run, girl, run!!!) And every aspect of training (including great cool downs with Murphy!), no matter how sore it makes me, is worth it… and the chocolate milk I get afterwards kinda rocks too! 😉

Live. Love. Run. Passionately!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

