Beep Beep!

As I ran the trails today, I realized that I am feeling the same way I was about those trails as I did about this time last year.  I really don’t like them, I’m tired of running on them, and I’m bored with them.  I am a road runner.  I run stronger on the road. I run faster on the road. I feel more in control on the road.  Sometimes when I call myself a road runner, I want to stick my tongue out at people, say “BEEP BEEP,” and run past them as fast as I can.

So, I made a decision as I ran my 18 miles in FLSP today.  I will do my next few long runs on the road as I prepare for the Richmond Marathon.  It’s a road race, and I need to train on the road. I feel I will be better able to run at race pace during my remaining training days if I don’t have to dodge puddles, roots, tree branches, and potentially slippery bridges. And in all honesty, I miss running at the oceanfront, soaking in the sunshine, the smell of the salt air, the breeze on my face, and the sound of the crashing waves.  I definitely will be making my next 20, 18, and 20 milers along the oceanfront for sure. 

Today’s run was completed at a steady pace despite the heat, humidity, and misty rain, but those same elements kept me tense and definitely held me back from running as strong as I know I can on the trails.  My fear of falling is now intensified as I get closer to the marathon, especially since I can’t even do the yoga pose called child’s pose without the scar on my right knee sending a searing pain across my entire knee from stretching out the still super sensitive skin that is still pale pink.  It’s still far from healing despite the TLC I am giving it daily.  I am diligently covering my knees every time I run with long socks or by wearing my capris, but my fear makes me want to run on the road even more.  Solid footing is going to be more key as these last few weeks of training wrap up.  I can’t believe it’s just a little over a month and I will be racing the Richmond Marathon.  Wow.

I completed today’s 18.1 miles in 3:13:51, and I felt strong.  I was definitely sore, and aching when I was done.  But I think you would be too if you ran over the Great Neck Bridge and back at the tail end of your trail run too.  Whew.  I know it will help for Richmond, but man, it kicked my butt today.  I am thankful for ice, my roller, long socks, and ibuprofen tonight.  Another long run is done!

Live. Love. RUN. Passionately!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

