Reminiscing, Excitement, and Aspirations

image It seems that I need the full first day of the year to really think about what I want to focus on for the year, as it is the second year in a row I have waited until January 2nd to write about my aspirations.  It took me most of the past two days to put together what I am calling my inspiration board that is focused around my word for the year: fierce.

I read a lot of blogs, books, online materials, and of course, social media, that has triggered me to really think about my focus for the new year being around or through one sole word.  It’s supposed to challenge me to really think about what I am thinking, doing, achieving, and even stressing over.  I chose the word FIERCE because I can be fierce in so many positive ways instead of allowing the sometimes negative connotation take over the word and/or my perspective.  From here forward, I will be living fiercely!

I wanted to take a quick look back at my goals for myself from 2013, and see how things fell into place.  I had 3 goals that I was really focused on:

1. Run 13 races in 2013 since 13 is my lucky number!

~ I ran 15 races! (And, yes, I realize I am a little bit of an overachiever!)

2. Run 1,000 miles in one year.

~I ran 1, 184 miles in 2013, and I reached the 1,000 mile mark about two weeks before the Richmond Marathon.

3. Run a sub- 2:00 half marathon.

~ I did this with a shiny new PR at the Charleston Half Marathon, and then the Shamrock Half Marathon, and then the Dismal Swamp Stomp Half Marathon! (Yes, yes, I know. See comment after goal #1 again.)

4. Run a marathon, and do my best to qualify for Boston. (This is a goal in progress.)

~I ran the Richmond Marathon, took nearly half an hour off my best marathon time, and am making progress towards my dream of qualifying for Boston!

I am really proud of my progress this past year. I’ve come away from the year stronger, more knowledgeable, and even more determined to qualify for Boston.  With that said, I have new aspirations for 2014:

1. Run a sub 4:15 marathon

2. Run 1300 miles

3. Run more than one marathon in a year

4. (This will be on my list til I get there!) Qualify for Boston!

I was really struggling to come up with what to write about as I reminisced about 2013 and looked forward to new aspirations for 2014.  I still don’t feel like I have my thoughts all in order, but my run tonight definitely helped me get the cobwebs out of my mind.  It was a chilly, soggy run of 6 miles in 59:32, but it’s done. And I feel better knowing that I have literally started off the year with one foot in front of the other, running fiercely through the rain and cold in my neon pink running jacket. Here’s to a fierce New Year!

Live. Love. Run. Passionately!

Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Reminiscing, Excitement, and Aspirations

  1. Greg Ritchie says:

    You rock, Erica. Keep it up, Fierce Girl. Grrrr!!

Leave a Reply

