Change of Scenery

Sometimes it’s necessary to have a change of scenery to get a new perspective on things.  I’ve been doing this a lot more lately.  I have literally changed around things in my home to make it look different.  I have navigated different routes on the way home from work. I have picked up different, and new foods at the grocery store.  And today, I chose a different path to run. 

I’m being completely honest when I say I am absolutely sick of the trails in First Landing State Park. I’ve been running them consistently since 2012 when I started training for the Seashore Nature Trail 50k and working with my coach.  It was out of necessity then because the entire race would be on those trails, and up until that point, I had been strictly a road runner.  It was a new adventure, and I was totally willing, but slightly hesitant, to navigate this new scenery.  Due to this, I have been seeking new places to run, or just running them backwards so it feels different. I never, ever tire of running on the boardwalk, hearing the waves crashing, feeling the sun on my face, or smelling the salty air.  However, said boardwalk is only a little over 5 miles down and back.  I’m not a huge fan of doing several down and back repeats, so I have to find routes that are longer.

Today, I ran with another one of my coach’s runners who is also doing the Shamrock Full.  We opted to run from the paved trail out the main entrance, and down Shore Drive, almost to the Boardwalk and back to get a total of 14 miles in.  It was so refreshing to have a change of scenery!  I did forget that coming from that direction, you start off going all down hill, and would have to go back going uphill.  Sometimes a challenge at the most tiring point of the run is what makes you stronger. It’s a challenge to run with someone new as well, but Rob hung in there and got the miles in with me.  14 miles done, with wet socks and wet shoes, in 2:25:54 for a solid pace of 10:24 isn’t too shabby.  Although, I have to say I am not impressed with my new socks at the moment. I tried out my swiftwicks today since it was a long run, and I wanted to see what they could do.  They rubbed a nice blister on the side of the ball of one of my feet.  I didn’t run through puddles today, but the road was wet from all the rain.  I was also pretty sweaty due to the beautiful 70 degree weather and humidity! So, today’s trial run in these new socks may have to have a round 2 to fairly judge what they can do.  They fit well, but I thought they weren’t supposed to cause blisters… Round 2 will have to be the deciding factor!

Now, I am off to go hide since we have a tornado watch and the next couple of cities over have a tornado warning. Stay safe everyone!

Live. Love. Run. Passionately!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

