Choices

The consequences of today are the results of the choices we made yesterday. I often am found saying that I love where I live and run. I chose to move to the beach; I choose to stay at the beach. I love living here. I love running here, and today was further proof of that as I made my way along the streets to the boardwalk and along the path to Rudee’s Inlet Bridge. I tackled that bridge 8 times today and finished my 6.8 mile run in 1:08:13.

As I made each trip over the bridge, I thought about my form, my breathing, how much I loved the bridge, how much I hated the bridge. Then I started to really look around as I made my way up and over the bridge and during my cool down. I could see the ocean lapping against the rocks under the bridges. I could see the waves crashing on the sand. I could feel the sunshine on my face and shoulders on this gloriously sunshine-y and warm day in October.  While life is far from perfect, I don’t regret a single choice I have made to get to this point in my life.  I love where I live. I love where I run and who I run with. Murphy couldn’t be happier than at the beach. He is definitely my kind of dog. I don’t regret adopting him as a squirmy, chocolate brown ball of fur with four left paws.

As I was trying to tune out the world with music this morning, what I realized in my solitude was so much more. I was a lot more focused and aware of what was going on around me. I tried to remember to not stare and smiled at everyone I passed. I’m the first to admit that I hate it when I say hello to someone and they don’t say it back that it hurts my feelings. We can’t all be lost souls wandering this Earth forever in a grumpy mood. So yet another choice I am making is to make the most of the time I have on this Earth because I want to be running when my sand runs out….

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

